School Board

  • Frederick County Public Schools is governed by a seven-member school board. Six of the board members represent the county's individual magisterial districts and one member is elected at-large. Board members are elected for four-year terms which are staggered at two-year intervals. The Board Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected by the board at its first meeting each January.

    The Board's official title is the "County School Board of Frederick County, Virginia." The Board derives its authority from the Constitution of Virginia, the Code of Virginia, and the regulations of the State Board of Education. Board members are officers of the Commonwealth.

    The School Board has many duties and is charged with appointing the superintendent of schools; setting the policies, guidelines, and procedures to ensure the proper administration of the school division; being responsible for the school division's financial matters; ensuring that school laws are properly explained, enforced and observed; managing the property of the school division and providing necessary school buildings; appraising the effectiveness with which the schools are achieving the educational purposes of the board; and adopting goals and objectives for each aspect of the school system's operation.

    The regularly scheduled meetings for the School Board are held the first and third Tuesdays of each month. The meetings are held at the Frederick County Public Schools Administration Building, 1415 Amherst Street, Winchester, Virginia. The meetings begin at 7 p.m. and are open to the public. Board meetings are also made available via a live video stream on the FCPS YouTube Channel.