Return to Headlines

Three Sworn In as Frederick County School Board Members

Three newly-elected Frederick County School Board Members were sworn into office on Tuesday, December 19, 2023. The swearing-in ceremony took place in the Milton F. Wright Board meeting room at the Frederick County Public Schools Administration Building in Winchester. 

Frederick County Circuit Court Clerk Becky Hogan conducted the swearing-in ceremony for newly-elected members Daryl Bell (Opequon District), Frank Funes (Gainesboro District) and Edward “Scott” Sturdivant (Back Creek District). Hogan also swore in Nina DeSantis as Clerk of the Frederick County School Board. Dorenda Fisher and Cynthia Sousa were sworn in as School Board Deputy Clerks.

Frederick County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. George Hummer said, “We are excited to welcome our new School Board members and look forward to building upon the excellent foundation already established by previous boards.”

Newly-elected Board Member Dianna Klein (Member at Large) and Deputy Clerk Tracy Ritenour could not attend this morning’s ceremony. They will be sworn in at a later date.

The new School Board members will begin their four-year terms on January 1, 2024. At its first meeting in January, the School Board will elect a chair and vice chair, establish Board committee membership and set meeting schedules.